Still here!

It’s not that I don’t want to post – just that my blog hasn’t actually been working for what seems to have been the entirety of the summer holidays! Not sure what is up with WordPress but it just wouldn’t load, and has been having great difficulty showing me other people’s WordPress based blogs as well. Don’t know for sure if this will work but having managed to finally pin it down I thought I’d better jump up and down and shout to let any readers I have left know that I haven’t abandoned my blog – it just seems to have abandoned me!

We’ve had a fabulous summer. The weather has been pretty much perfect – after the longest, wettest, darkest bleakest feeling winter I remember for ages, and the two previous summers not really happening weather-wise at all, it’s been like an amazing gift to have actual prolonged periods of sunshine and warmth. I have not taken one single bit of it for granted! We went away, the four of us, to the New Wine North and East Summer Conference at the Newark & Notts Showground (basically thousands of Christians living and worshipping together for a week in a field), and then the younger two went off with their dad for a fortnight and I took One and my mum off down to Dartmoor for a week’s camping. Two very different holidays, both fabulous, and I’m intending to post about both of those once my blog becomes more reliable and stable again.

Back to school and work next week for us all! We have a period of uncertainty ahead as we wait to find out when Two will be leaving us for pastures new living with his dad in Manchester – it all depends on school places and a house move before he can go. This is the most difficult thing I have faced as a parent so far, and the only thing reconciling me to the whole thing at all is that Two desperately wants to go, and at 13 he is old enough to make his own decisions about where he lives. He knows how much he will be missed and that the door is always open for him to come back if it doesn’t work out. The thing that’s affecting me most at the moment is the uncertainty – once we have a date I will feel at once far worse about the whole thing, but also far better as I can begin to come to terms with it all. Meh. That’s enough about that for now. 😦

Between now and Monday I need to coordinate finding out what they all need for school and purchasing it at the cheapest price possible. Prices of everything everywhere are going up, and incomes everywhere are staying exactly the same, or going down. I’m having to be frugal with everything at the moment, and I know it’s the same for the majority. Of course going on two holidays hasn’t helped, but we’ve made some excellent memories this summer and I can put up with being extra careful for the next couple of months to make up for that. 🙂

Better post this before it all decides to refuse to work again. If you’re reading this, then it worked! I hope to be back with posts about our camping holidays before the week is out…

3 thoughts on “Still here!

  1. Nice to know you’ve not abandoned your blog. Glad you had a good summer. Totally agree about the importance of creating memories. Going to Florida was financially crippling on us all, but so worth it for K enjoying herself.

Leave a Reply

