Blogger’s block

I seem to be suffering from a definite blogging slump at the moment. It isn’t that there isn’t plenty to write about; it’s more that I have a combination of lack of time to sit and type, and lack of confidence – I can’t quite bring myself to believe that anything I have to say is interesting enough to put out there for the internet to read!

I was listening to one of Richard Herring’s Leicester Square Theatre podcasts a couple of days ago, in which Charlie Higson said something along the lines of ‘when you are a writer, you absolutely have to have an attitude of total self belief and confidence’. That made me think about how I’ve been letting my blog languish a little, as total self belief has given way to doubt over the past few months.

I’ve been pondering NaBloPoMo (committing to a blog post per day for the month of November), but I know myself well enough that making a public commitment to do almost anything is a fairly sure way of setting myself up for failure. So I’m not going to do that.

I am, however, making a statement here and now that I do believe I have a writing voice worth listening to. That my blog doesn’t have to fit into an obvious genre or niche. That I choose to post about whatever is important to me, without holding myself back worrying about what anyone else will think*. From the entirely trivial right through to the deepest matters on my heart, this is my blog and I won’t be ashamed.

So as and when I find the time and have the inspiration, I’m going to stamp on the unconfidence demons and just write. For me. I have a feeling I’ll be a better blogger again once I stop trying to please the hypothetical critical readers living inside my head.

*Mostly, if I’m honest, I assume people are thinking ‘bloody hell, this is tedious…’

10 thoughts on “Blogger’s block

  1. I love reading what you write but I firmly believe that your blog is your space – you are its most important reader. I am always pleased when a new post from pops up on twitter or in my google redaer so I look forward to seeing plenty of them πŸ™‚

  2. Me too. And it is yours to write what you will. I am reading back my diary from 1988 from when the twins were the same age as Sam is now and it is very boring, but fascinating at the same time.

  3. Helen you continue blogging and finding your voice, it’s unique, refreshing and it will get louder and clearer the more you write.
    I have signed up for NaNoWriMo – so that’s a whole novel in a month – have no idea if I can do it but I need to try.
    At the end of the day you have to write from what’s within. There are plenty of people out there doing the same thing, with exactly the same inhibitions and hang ups. Sometimes it’s depressing to think you are one lone voice, who will want to listen?
    But turn that thought around and I have discovered so many wonderful friends on line, I enjoy their writing and they enjoy mine. Maybe, one day, hopefully even more people will read my words but for now just knowing I am part of a small group of on line writing friends supporting each other is enough.
    First and foremost write for YOU – you will be amazed where this can lead!

  4. You write clearly and well and it is always good to read what you write.

    I know what you mean about setting yourself up for a fall with public aims of something like blogging every day – I feel exactly the same.

  5. Your writing is beautiful, Helen, and I love to hear about your family’s ups and downs. Don’t let anything stop you from continuing to write. You definitely have a gift.

  6. I look forward to reading your blogs Helen and really enjoy finding out what you and your family have been doing. I suppose I feel a connection in some way. We live in the same area; have children at the same school; are both interested in knitting etc. There is even a Derbyshire connection too as my dad was from there. Keep writing, and write what you want to write for yourself! x

Leave a Reply

