What to say when…

Blogging from my phone, in bed, because I was thinking, and the thoughts became a blog post which needed writing immediately.

Hints and tips for the friends and acquaintances of those who find themselves in the hypothetical (ahem) situation of having a child with severe depression and anxiety.

What NOT to say:

– Why? Do you have any idea of the root cause of it?

– Oh my goodness, that must be AWFUL! I don’t know how I’d react if that was one of my kids.

– Have you tried….?

– Sounds like a teenage phase to me.

– Is anything being done about it at all?

– You must be absolutely beside yourself with worry.

What to ACTUALLY say:

– That must be tough. You are doing an amazing job. Here is a cup of tea. And a listening ear if you ever need it. I have no well meaning advice for you. Let us chat about the weather.

10 thoughts on “What to say when…

  1. That must be tough. You are doing an amazing job. Here is a cup of tea. And a listening ear if you ever need it. I have no well meaning advice for you. Let us chat about the weather.

    YES!

  2. That must be tough. You are doing an amazing job. Here is a cup of tea and some chocolate. And a listening ear if you ever need it. I have no well meaning advice for you. It is sunny here but all the office blinds are closed to stop it shining in people’s eyes. It is still managing to get in and reflect of something to dazzle me, though. Also. You are amazing.

  3. I’ve been there Helen, many years ago with #1 daughter and I know exactly what you mean….lovely weather we’ve been having…xx

Leave a Reply

