Life begins here, apparently!

Today I have entered my forties with joy and enthusiasm! I can already tell I’m going to like being 40. πŸ™‚

I celebrated on Saturday evening at the Chinese Buffet with Mum, J, One, Two and Three. A great deal of food was consumed by all and I’m amazed that none of us exploded in the night…

Today was a quieter day but none the worse for that. I called in on Mum on the way home from the school run, and as well as already contributing towards my posh new phone, she had a few parcels for me. A new pink top, a purple scarf which will go very well with the top, a pair of earrings and a Lampe Berger which is a fragrance oil diffuser. I’ve had that going today and it is very effective – I love the sheer musk scent she chose for me.

Lots of cards, lots of lovely messages on facebook, and profiteroles for dessert at teatime! I’ve started my next decade in my own cheerful way and thoroughly enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

My two favourite quotes of the day (one birthday related, and one not at all):

Three, on the way to school: “Mummy, you’re not ancient! Only the Ancient Egyptians are ancient, and you’ll never be as old as them! Not while you’re still alive anyway…”

Me, to One when she got home from helping at a local church holiday club: “Oh by the way, Dad has lent you ‘Being Human’. [he’d brought the dvd of series one round for her to watch]

One, looking slightly puzzled: “B&Q man?”

I am now picturing a DIY store employee, mid 50s, bright orange cape with the distinctive white logo, zooming down to help with our household repairs. B&Q man tooooo the rescuuuuue!

Now, bed. It’s quite odd still doing the school run for Three while One and Two are already ensconced in their summer holidays; I keep worrying that I’m going to forget to take her to school or collect her again!

2 thoughts on “Life begins here, apparently!

Leave a Reply

