Alone

One, Two and Three are now with their dad for the rest of half term.

It took about 15 minutes for me to start talking to myself out loud, and not much longer before I was making cheesy chips to have for tea. I descend to a very basic level of comfort carbs and conversing with myself very quickly indeed!

My plans are sketchy, but will definitely include lots of college work (including some time spent in the uni library tomorrow), and a trip to my favourite local National Trust property with my camera, by way of a reward for the college work I am going to do! Wandering round a beautiful garden by myself, taking as many photographs as I like, as slowly as I like, with nobody telling me to hurry up and move on, sounds like absolute bliss.

For tonight, I have to wrestle with an incredibly full wheelie bin and get it outside ready for the morning, and then I’m going to have a bath, revelling in the fact that for tonight the hot water is mine, all mine (mwahahahaha, yes I have a teenager…), then take myself off to bed – sleep was rather slow in arriving last night and I have dark circles under my eyes today!

3 thoughts on “Alone

  1. Have a wonderful time! I realised today when Jess was in the car with me that I was talking to myself just like my mother does…….. Might have to try and stop that one.

  2. Over the years I have come to the delightful conclusion that there are some up sides to being a single parent. Alone time is definitely one of those I think. First and Last came back on Wednesday…the sudden increase in noise level always seems deafening and takes a few days to get used to. I had my hair cut on Wednesday morning, T ,who was cutting my hair asked if I had missed the boys. The short answer is NO!! Not because I don’t love them or enjoy having them around. I just enjoy my alone time these days having long since given up worrying about them. They are teens and more than a match for their father!! Enjoy your cheesy chips…you deserve them. I’m glad I’m not the only one who reverts to muttering out loud to myself when nobody is listening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

