You learn something new every day

Today I learned exactly what happens when a very old yoghurt explodes at the back of your fridge, spills right down behind the salad drawer and stays there unnoticed for an unspecified length of time.

It isn’t pleasant, believe me.

However, the fridge is now clean again and only has edible food in it once more, even if it took about twice as long as the 15 minutes I’d originally allocated to the job!

It’s been a nice, relaxing Saturday.

– It was the afternoon before I made it out of bed (only just, mind you).

– I spent lots of time on the sofa watching TV with the children – Tracy Beaker returns, and the film of A series of unfortunate events, which we all really enjoyed. This evening we’ve all watched Harry Hill’s TV Burp, I’ve watched Holby on iplayer ย with One, and the two of us are about to watch Casualty together too.

– I got the fridge clean as aforementioned; put lots of dry washing away and more wet washing on to the radiators in its place.

– I did actual baking for the first time in ages and made ‘marmalade crunch’ (a recipe passed down from my grandma; no idea where she got it from) which we had for pudding at teatime with ice cream.

– My basic minimal Flylady type routines have kept the kitchen and bathroom clean and tidy for three days now. I don’t think it is a coincidence that I have felt calmer and clearer headed for three days now too.

– I can wish as much as I like that the state of my mental health wasn’t so closely connected with the state of my surroundings, but something tells me I just have to accept that is the way I work and just get on with it. And I feel so much better for it.

5 thoughts on “You learn something new every day

  1. I’m so with you on the last. I find myself getting too tired and busy to tidy my flat (and I only have me to mess it up! Although my flat is tiny and I have too much stuff so it’s VERY easy to mess it up) and then find I’m more tired and more reluctant to do anything because my surroundings are a mess. It’s a catch 22… if you figure out the solution let me know? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I could have written the last paragraph. I have been using the Flylady system for almost 11yrs. I have so brainwashed myself now, that when I start to feel low I set the timer for 15mins and clean my kitchen. It has taken me years, but I no longer get overwhelmed about my house, in the past there have been times when I have just left the house just to get away from that feeling. My mental state mirrors the state of my environment. As you say, this is how I work, and I have to embrace that or spend a life time battling with myself.

  3. The amazing thing about Fly Lady is it actually works…little and often…brilliant.
    There is absolutely nothing wrong with feeling better when your surroundings are the way you want them! I’ve spent ages trying to get the kitchen cleared up at the end of the day, or rather expecting the boys to do their chores and therefore have a clean kitchen at the end of the day…Fat chance!!!!!! AND I have been feeling pretty low about it.
    So while they are away I’m slowly working on the kitchen myself…and it’s working ๐Ÿ™‚
    Funny thing is, the more I do the more I want to do!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I do agree about one’s surroundings. Last year we had a mega-blitz on the front room as we were expecting guests (including my daughter and her husband, who teased me ragged about it!), but the room stayed tidy for days and I was much less stressed than usual when it came to packing for holiday. I just wish it was tidy now – and most of it isn’t my stuff (some of it is, I will be the first to admit), so I can’t do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

